Skip to main content

Group Settings - Knowledgebase / Administrator's Guide / Community Groups - MemberNova Support

Group Settings

Authors list

Group Settings allows you to modify the group details as follows :

  • Group Information - Change the group name, description, category, entity type.
  • Privacy - Make the group open/private, hide the discussion, event, member, document, or email tabs.
  • Email Notifications - Change the group's welcome email and farewell email.
  • Group Image - Change the group image.
  • Group Positions - Add/Remove group members from positions.
  • Cover Image - Change the group's cover image.
  • About This Group - Change the description.

Group Settings

  1. From the dashboard, click Engagement or the clock icon on the left menu.
  2. Click Community.
  3. Click on the group.
  4. Click Settings. This will display the group settings page.

Hiding Group Tabs

To restrict members from using certain group features like Discussions, Events, Member list, Documents, or Emails, you can hide the tabs.

Note: Tabs will always be visible for Administrators.

1. From the dashboard, click Engagement or the clock icon on the left.

2. Click Groups.

3. Click on the group you would like to change.

4. While in the group, click Settings.

5. In the Privacy section click Edit.

6. A few fields are displayed:

  • Group Privacy - This allows you to change the group to a open or closed group. Open means that any member can view the activities in the group and choose to join. Closed means that non-group members can view only the group description. They will not see a Join button and can only be added by an administrator.
  • Hide Discussion Tab - Checking the box will hide this tab from group members.
  • Hide Event Tab - Checking the box will hide this tab from group members.
  • Hide Member Tab - Checking the box will hide this tab from group members.
  • Hide Document Tab - Checking the box will hide this tab from group members.
  • Hide Email Tab - Checking the box will hide this tab from group members.

7. Click Save when done.


How to Edit Groups Details

To change the group details, navigate to the Group Settings area.

1. From the dashboard, click Engagement or the clock icon on the left.

2. Click Groups.

3. Click on the group.

4. While in the group, click Settings.

5. In the Basic Information section, click the Edit button.

6. There are a few fields you can change:

  • Group Name - The name of the group.
  • Short Description - A description of the group.
  • Group Category - The Category the group is in. To learn more about Group Categories, click here.
  • Entities - The Entity Type allowed to join the group.

7. Click Save when done.


Defining Group Email Notifications

By default, Groups use the System Welcome and Farewell email templates, to thank members for joining or to confirm they left the group. You can create a custom Email Template to use instead to better suit your needs.

Note: To select a new email template, it first has to be created in the Email Templates library.

1. From the dashboard, click Engagement or the clock icon on the left.

2. Click Groups.

3. Click on the group.

4. While in the group, click Settings.

5. In the Email Notifications section, click the Edit button.

6. Change the Welcome Email Template to Custom. (This email templates is sent when a member joins or is added into the group.)

7. Select the template you would like to use from the dropdown box.

8. Change the Farewell Email Template to Custom. (This email templates is sent when a member leaves or is removed from the group.)

9. Select the template you would like to use from the dropdown box.

10. Click Save when done.


Making a group private (Closed)

Private groups allow admins to control who can join the group. All members can view the group and read its description but are not able to see the Join button. Members can only be added by an admin. Private or closed groups can be used for committees such as the Board of Directors.

Note: The Administrator and Community Manager roles allow full access to all groups regardless of whether they are private or not.

1. From the dashboard, click Engagement or the clock icon on the left.

2. Click Groups.

3. Click on the Group you would like to change.

4. Click Settings on the right.

5. Click the Edit button in the Privacy section.

6. Change the drop down from Open to Close in the Group Privacy field.

7. Click Save.

Helpful Unhelpful